involvement of Cabinet and Cabinet committees in respect of a piece of legislation that the

government ultimately introduces in the House of Commons or the Senate.

Either on the initiative of a Minister or his departmental officials, a policy proposal is prepared, the implementation of which will require new legislation or the amendment of existing legislation. The proposal is submitted over the Minister's signature for consideration by the appropriate subject-matter committee. If approval is given, the proposal goes forward to Cabinet for confirmation. If Cabinet confirms the Committee's decision, the Department of Justice is instructed by the Minister who made the proposal to prepare a draft Bill expressing in legal terms the intent of the policy proposal. If the draft Bill meets with the Minister's approval, he submits it to the Cabinet Committee on Legislation and House Planning where it is examined from a legal rather than a policy point of view. If the Committee agrees that the Bill is acceptable in all respects and could be introduced in Parliament, it so reports to Cabinet and Cabinet decides whether to confirm the Committee's decision. If confirmation is given, the Prime Minister initials the Bill and it is then introduced either in the Senate or the House of Commons, depending on constitutional and political considerations.

The order and manner in which a Bill is considered in Parliament is the responsibility of the President of the Privy Council and House Leader who negotiates these matters with his counterparts in the opposition parties. If a Bill is to be introduced in the Senate, the House Leader will discuss questions such as timing and tactics with the Leader of the Government in the Senate, who in turn will negotiate consideration of the Bill with his counterpart in the

Senate.

The Privy Council Office is a secretariat providing staff support to the Select Committee of the Privy Council and to the Cabinet. For the purposes of the Financial Administration Act, it is considered a department of government. The Privy Council Office provides secretariats to serve the Cabinet, the Select Committee of the Privy Council and their various sub-committees. Since the Prime Minister is, in effect, chairman of the Cabinet, he is the Minister responsible for the Privy Council Office. The work of the Privy Council Office is directed by a public servant known as the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. He is the senior member of the Public Service.

Parliamentary secretaries. The Parliamentary Secretaries Act of June 1959 provided for the appointment of 16 parliamentary secretaries from among the members of the House of Commons to assist Ministers in the performance of their duties. That Act was amended by the Government Organization Act, 1970, which allows the number of parliamentary secretaries to equal the number of Ministers who hold offices listed in Section 4 of the Salaries Act (i.e., Ministers with departmental responsibilities, the Prime Minister and the President of the Privy Council). A parliamentary secretary works under the direction of his Minister and has no legal authority in respect of the department with which he is associated, nor is he given acting responsibility or any of the powers, duties and functions of a Minister in the event of his Minister's absence or incapacity. Parliamentary secretaries are appointed by the Prime Minister and hold office for 12 months.

At December 31, 1972, the following parliamentary secretaries, listed with their Ministers,

were in office: Pierre De Bané, Secretary of State for External Affairs John M. Reid, President of the Privy Council Joseph-Philippe Guay, Minister of Transport J.-Roland Comtois, Minister of Finance Len Marchand, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Charles Turner, Minister of Labour William Rompkey, Minister of the Environment Ian Watson, Minister of State for Urban Affairs. Marcel Prud'homme, Minister of Regional Economic Expansion Mark MacGuigan, Minister of Manpower and Immigration Leonard Hopkins, Minister of National Defence Raynald Guay, Minister of Justice Herb Breau, Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce Léopold Corriveau, Minister of Agriculture Gilles Marceau, Secretary of State Norman A. Cafik, Minister of National Health and Welfare.